AllieSchlumper's Blog

Georgia Southern University

T.O.W. Week 1 January 19, 2010

Filed under: PRCA 3030,TOW: Topic of the Week — aschlum1 @ 3:09 pm

For my Social Media in Public Relations course at Georgia Southern University, we will have a topic of the week every week for the semester. This week, the topic was optional and it was, “write about which types of social media you currently participate in (such as blogging, podcasting, social networking, etc.), which platforms you use, and why.” (From Barbara Nixon’s blog).

  • The first type of social media that I take part in is social networking. I use various social networking sites such as: Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn. When I first came to college, the only site I used was Facebook. I used it to connect and keep in touch with friends. When I became a public relations major and started getting more into my upper level classes, I realized how important social networking was. I then opened a Twitter and LinkedIn account and have used them ever since.
  • If you are reading this blog post, you can probably tell that I am a blogger. I mostly blog for various courses that I have taken, but I also have some personal posts as well. I believe that blogging is beneficial to anyone (not just PR majors) if you use it for the right purposes. If you have a blog that is all about your personal life (and includes details that many of us probably do not wish to know about) than it can hurt you when you are looking for a job. If you have a blog that has substantial information, interesting topics, and has not-so-graphic information about your personal life, than it is very possible that it can benefit you.
  • I have an iPod, but I do not listen to podcasts very often. I have listened to them before and I hope to start listening to them more as the semester goes on.

There are MANY social media sites out there for a person to be active in. These are just a few of the ones that I am very active with, and I hope to get more involved in other social media sites as I learn more about each and every one of them.

 

2 Responses to “T.O.W. Week 1”

  1. kdwhigham Says:

    I’ve definitely used Social Media much more as PR major also. I need to become more active in Linkedin. I’m also hoping I’ll listen to more podcast now that I’ll have to commute to Savannah for my wedding/event planning internship.

    P.S. Thanks for the comment on my blog !

  2. […] January 25, 2010 T.O.W. Week 1 By Allie Schlumper […]


Leave a Reply

